More Hills & Trees

Finally some real studio time again! Yesterday I was preparing for the Nov. 12 Tissue Paper Techniques workshop and came up with some neat projects for the students to try out.

The offending painting....

Today I started fiddling with an older Hills & Trees painting, which I did not really like. It also sat in an ill-fitting frame, 3/4 ” instead of 1.5″, so it was sticking out: awkward! What was I thinking as I put it on display in one of our local wineries this summer….;-((

My first line of attack was covering the lower part of the painting with a good layer of wax, not very concerned about colours, as I was planning on using a different sheet of the chiyogami paper:

Looks pretty awful!

After collaging in the nice paper the colours of the sky were all wrong, so I had to come up with some alternative.

Some charcoal-coloured shellac to make the clouds more interesting

I wanted to emphasize the diagonal from the lower lefthand corner towards the tree. the paper has some lovely upside down tree shape just below my painted tree and I thought that could make for a nice composition.

So I painted with white, black and gold wax on top of the paper to get the shapes to pop: now I like it!

What do you think?? Suggested title : Connected

Then I started a new painting on one of the prepared 10×10 panels, again intending on using more of the chiyogami paper and the hills and trees theme.

Not sure if it’s finished; will take a critical look tomorrow morning….;-)

Suggestions welcome!

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “More Hills & Trees”

  1. Linda Swales Says:

    Beautifiul!!!! I love both paintings.

  2. Linda Swales Says:

    OOPs, that should read beautiful, really beautiful.

  3. Barb Hofer Says:

    I think they are gorgeous! I especially like the black and gold. Love the bright flowers in the second one with trees and hills behind. Both are great compositions!

  4. Thea Haubrich Says:

    Thanks, Linda and Barb! It is still early in the morning, and I have not looked at them again today. Will go down to the studio a bit later and see how they “speak” to me…;-))

Leave a Reply

