Hills & Trees

Ooops, almost a month since my last post….not good! Of course I could say that I’ve been painting non-stop and just did not have the time to switch on the computer, but that would be far from the truth…;-)
Sometimes  time just slips by and I should know better: each healthy day is too valuable to waste!

But I HAVE been painting lately; a while ago I bought 8 lovely frames at a sale at Opus, but they did not have the fitting 10×10 panels with a narrow cradle to go with them. So Don, the husband of my dear friend Carol Munro, came to the rescue and made me 8 beautiful panels. I wished I had taken a photograph as they were all bundled up together for the glue to dry! It looked like an alien space ship…;-)

My Hills & Trees series have been very successful and I love painting them, so that’s what these were going to be. So far I’ve finished three:

I also played around with the demo board from my collage workshop, which I taught last week in Kelowna: used a stencil to paint in the crow and some of my figure drawings as transfers:

Oh, and I almost forgot! I submitted two paintings for the juried FCA exhibition in Vancouver, “Small, Smaller, Smallest”, and BOTH were juried in! The first was another Hills & Trees painting and the second one is one of my current favourites, Collateral Damage:

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Hills & Trees”

  1. Bill Says:

    Congrats on your acceptance into the S,S, smallest show. I see real growth in your composition and technique.

  2. Thea Haubrich Says:

    Oh, thanks so much, Bill! It’s great to get praise from a fabulous painter like yourself…;-))
    I very much like your new website; it has such a fresh look and is easy to navigate.

Leave a Reply

