Working on the next RipOff challenge

The next RipOff challenge will take place from July 4 – July 9 at the Quail’s Nest art centre in Oliver. We open with a reception on Monday evening from 6 – 8 PM and will work Tuesday – Saturday from 9 – 3. On Saturday is the big finale, where we all rush to try and finish our piece. Feel free to drop by any time.

In a post, back in March, I mentioned that we had chosen American Gothic as our fifth challenge. Each of the 10 artists in our group chose a different artist for their inspiration to create Grant Wood’s famous painting.
We will have Frida Kahlo (Marion), Len Norris (Leo), Katsushika Hokusai (Thea), Pablo Picasso (Terry), Salvador Dali (Russell), Gustav Klimt (Dianne), Erica deRuiter (Barbara), Alexander Calder (Kurt), Hildegard of Bingen (JoAnn) and Amedeo Modigliani & Charles Shultz (Enid). Can you imagine the fabulous artworks which are going to emerge next week?!

I’m extremely sad that my radiation schedule is going to prevent me from working at the Quail’s Nest during the week, but I will be there on the Saturday for sure.  I have already started on my piece and will send Marion pictures, which she will print off and display in my name.
My artist is the Japanese woodblock artist Hokusai and this is my design:

Nihon American Gothic

I prepared a 18×24 cradled wood panel with encaustic gesso, two coats of beeswax and a coat of white encaustic paint. Then I painted the sky and far hills. For the pagoda I printed off the image on my laser printer and transferred it on the warm wax by first burnishing the image down, then soak with it water and rub off excess paper.
The resulting drawing was painted in with wax paint.

Notice the Gothic windows, an artistic license of the artist…;-))

The next stage will be transferring the drawing of the figures onto the panel.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Working on the next RipOff challenge”

  1. Nancy Spencer Says:

    Absolutely beautiful!!! Can’t wait to see the finished painting.
    Nancy Spencer

Leave a Reply

