Zentangle: the Zen of Drawing

I do like to try out new stuff and had been eying the new way of doodling: zentangles. It seemed to me a good way to beat stress, of which I have quite a lot lately, and make some neat artwork at the same time.
So I ordered Totally Tangled, by Sandy Steen Bartholmew, got a few Pigma Micron pens and a nice notebook and off I went. There are not many rules to tangling and if there are any, nobody will beat you up for breaking them, so I found it all very relaxed.
Here are a few of my tangles, some are just trying out shapes, others are more complete drawings:

This was my very first one

I liked this one too

Practicing shapes

More practice

Now this one I REALLY liked!

These are more original shapes.

Something quite different

I don't think this one is finished yet...

More to follow in the next days.
I’m trying to do at least one a day – a bit like a meditation!

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “Zentangle: the Zen of Drawing”

  1. jjperry Says:

    I’ve noticed a lot of quilters are paying attention to this technique as well. Some of yours are really excellent examples–I sense that your technique improved with a little practice, especially doing the shapes. I’d like to experiment with this myself. . . Jenny

  2. Whitebear Says:

    These are so cool! I used to do that stuff years ago. I always called it doodling back then! 😉

  3. Linda Says:

    Thea, wow, aren’t they great. They are so interesting and quite different from each other. Well done!!

  4. Lea Sevcov Says:

    Love your zentangles. I too am an addict..I’ve even started doing them on little treasure boxes and can’t stop. I’ve done a few larger ones and even had them in a couple of shows.

Leave a Reply

