Still more art in my bedroom…

There are a couple more pieces in my bedroom I want to show you:
First a painting (a reproduction, I’m reluctant to admit…) of one of my favourite Canadian painters, Emily Carr. The title is Scorned as Timber, Beloved of the Sky, 1935.

Emily Carr

Emily Carr, Scorned as Timber, Beloved of the Sky, 1935

The next one is a framed print we bought on our visit to Korea, some 25 years ago. I really love this one! Sorry, it’s a bit fuzzy…

Korean print

Korean dancer

Two more paintings by local artists: The first is by Jack Deppisch, a fine painter with a great sense of humor. He painted this little cabin during a plein air session and I won it at the painting exchange from our FCA chapter this Christmas.

The second one is again by my dear friend Linda Swales. She started it in one of my workshops and gave it to me as a Christmas present, together with some fabulous Chinese paint brushes.

Jack Deppisch

Jack Deppisch, Summerland Ornamental Gardens

Linda Swales

Linda Swales

In a following post I’ll show you what hangs in my kitchen….;-))

2 Responses to “Still more art in my bedroom…”

  1. Theresa Towers Rickard Says:

    Dear Thea,
    Thank you so much for your website and blog. It gives me an abundant source of ideas and solutions. I’m currently working on a sculptural installation, that includes encaustic techniques and applications. The theme is Abandoned, which focuses on the deserted farms that are taken over by industry and urban sprawl. I’ll sent you some pictures when the project is complete.
    I sorry to hear that you need to have some chemotherapy. Don’t put it off if you’re up to it.
    Thinking of you,
    Theresa

  2. encausticcanada Says:

    Hi Theresa! Thanks for your nice comment!
    I was just thinking of you the other day as I was writing a new tutorial for Encaustic with Photographs, using some pictures I took at the OSA workshops.
    I’d love to see what you are up to. Perhaps you could be my featured artist in one of my upcoming newsletters???
    The chemo sucks! They had to postpone again, because my platelets were too low for the second time in a row….

Leave a Reply

