Playing with my screen printing set

Opus had a sale on last month, and the deluxe screen printing set caught my eye. I’ve always been intrigued with printing processes and had no idea what screen printing was all about. After opening the box it turned out that I needed some special masking tape, which I did not had, so I decided to leave the screen alone and play with the inks in another way. In the excellent book “Printmaking + Mixed Media” by Dorit Elisha I found instructions on how to make a collagraph and print from that.

A collagraph is a kind of printing plate, very basic though. (Sorry, forgot to make photos as I went along…)
I took a piece of matboard, about letter size and a piece of sturdy brown paper, left over from an shipping I got.
On the paper I drew the rooster and cut it out. I separated the head, tail and body part and glued these pieces a little bit apart with a glue stick on the mat board. That was my print plate!
On an piece of broken glass I found outside I spooned some of the acrylic printing ink from the screen printing kit and loaded a rubber brayer with it. Then I inked up my plate with the brayer, placed my printing paper on top and pressed to transfer the image.
Multiple colours and passes gave me the image in the end.

This was the first print.

And here is number two. I was really pleased with this one!

After getting the masking tape today I was ready for the real screen printing experience.

I printed off my profile picture black and white, with great contrast, and cut out the areas I wanted to show in colour with a craft knife, making a stencil. This stencil was placed beneath the screen.

The screen then was “flooded” with blue acrylic printing ink, spread out with a special squeegee.

Next step was the printing stroke, to push the ink through the netting onto the paper.

My very first screen print! I was hooked and printed off 12 more self portraits on heavy Stampin”Up card stock.

Isn’t that great?! Cleaning up was a terrible chore though…ink everywhere! Perhaps I should stick with wax…??

Nah, this is so much fun, I’m going to make a bit more of a mess tomorrow!

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “Playing with my screen printing set”

  1. Bill Says:

    Shades of Andy Warhal

  2. mary lee munro Says:

    Terrific, Thea!! Congrats on your new medium. ML

  3. Another screen printing session « Encaustic Canada's Blog Says:

    […] screen printing session By encausticcanada After my first attempts with the screen printing technique I was really pleased how the prints came out, so I decided to try it again. For some reason I must […]

Leave a Reply

