I’m back

It’s December 27 and the last post here is from October 13. It was not even my own post, but an article my friend Hugh wrote about his artistic journey.

Why the long silence? Much has happened since and I did share some of it on my Facebook page and on the Ning site, but the blog has been neglected. Writing here feels more direct, personal and I was not ready for it.

Around the time of Hugh’s article I was diagnosed with breast cancer. I had surgery and the prospects are good so far, but it shook my world to the core. I’ve never been really sick and now I am sitting in this oncology ward, with a bunch of questionnaires, which should not apply to me at all!! My energy level was zero for a while, but I did force myself to paint, starting some panels before the surgery, so there would be some half-finished work beckoning when I entered the studio again.

Those pieces turned out to be some of my favourites. Using transfer images of crows I photographed during a teaching trip to Vancouver I had them framed nicely and they are featured in my 2011 calendar of my artwork.

Listening - Series Connect

Thea Haubrich, Listening, 6x6, Series "Connect"

After a short trip over Christmas I’m ready to get back into the studio. I watched several art videos, not just encaustic, but about printing techniques and bought myself a screen printing set.

It’s going to be fun to experiment with something new and I promise to record the results here!

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “I’m back”

  1. judy Says:

    Oh I am so glad to read this post! I have been thinking about you and hoped you were doing well. I know there is a great support group here in Penticton for you but your art room will be the best place for you as well. Good to hear from you and hope to see you soon!
    Judy

  2. Linda Swales Says:

    Welcome back, lovely friend. You sound so refreshed. Looking forward to
    what comes out of your studio.
    I am also looking forward to Jan. so I can turn over the first page of your
    calender and enjoy the pictures for the year.
    See you soon.
    Hugs

  3. encausticcanada Says:

    Hi Judy and Linda!
    So glad someone is still reading this blog, after I’ve abandoned it for so long….;-)
    Happy New Year to you and all good wishes for a creative year!

  4. Stephanie Rehkopf Says:

    Hi Thea. I am so excited to see you are posting again. I have had your blog bookmarked for a while and kept checking for any activity. I am fairly new to painting with encaustic and I am looking forward to reading about a fellow Canadian’s artistic endeavors with this medium. I’m also glad to hear you are doing ok.

    Stephanie

Leave a Reply

