Encaustic and photographs

During the Encaustic conference last year I attended Danielle Correia’s excellent presentation on working with encaustic on photographs. But I had not done much experimenting myself until a few weeks ago.

The trigger was, as so often, an upcoming workshop, where I had promised I’d show some techniques.
What I learned was that the whole image releases from the photo paper if you dip it in wax-not good! What went well is dipping a photo printed on computer paper. It really went very well: the paper becomes transparent, which is a beautiful effect on its own.
I added just a little bit of dabbing and went over the photo, unto the paper:

 

Boat launch1

Dipped photo (computer paper)

I had the same photo printed off on matte photo paper at London Drugs (6×8).
This one I glued with matte medium on a piece of hardboard, then added clear medium on top. In the next step I built up texture, especially where the trees were and at the concrete boat launch area at the bottom. The texture was highlighted with a contrasting colour, light for the trees and dark for the foreground.
The rocks were painted over with dark wax (my favourite indigo again!), using the tip of the iron. This piece has a totally different feel, but I still like it very much.

 

Boat launch2

Matte photo paper, glued on hard board

Which one do you like best??

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 Responses to “Encaustic and photographs”

  1. Linda Swales Says:

    It’s hard to choose just one. I like them both for different reasons.
    I love the trees in the computer paper one and the sand stands out so
    much more on the matte photo.

  2. Chris Says:

    Can’t decide either, both are so different! I’m gearing towards the computer paper example though, because I like how you extended the original photo with your wax work.

  3. sandy Says:

    Thea, very hard to decide which one I like best cause the effects are so different. Seeing them in ‘real life’ might help to make the decision. Cool technique either way:)

  4. Mazarine Says:

    Thank you for talking about this technique! It came up in the Texas Wax meeting I went to last week, and everyone was wondering how best to put photos in encaustic paintings.

    I would love to feature your post on how to do this on my blog, http://melisander.org. Would that be okay?

    Mazarine

Leave a Reply

