MHP and alcohol inks

I had to tidy up my studio to make room for my new toy: the Munro Heatable Palette (MHP). Mainly I had to remove the newsprint that covered my table, for I realized that I was setting myself up for disaster with the pancake griddle on 350F, enclosed in a wooden frame and covered by an aluminum sheet….

After my first play-session the paper had turned quite brown! Just happy it did not ignite!

Munro Heatable Palette

Here the newsprint it still underneath...

Now I feel much better and this afternoon I played happily, making tons of mono prints, most were way too dark, but hey: I’m still learning…

This was one of the best ones:

mono print - Weave

While the palette was heating up I took out my alcohol inks, which I had really neglected for a long time. But boy, they are fun to use with encaustic!

Just dribble onto the wax and they form gorgeous shapes, with crisp, dark outlines. You can blend colour over colour and wipe off what you don’t like with the special blending fluid.

I worked on a 4×6 card with a flower I’d done during a demo. The original was quite bland, just yellows and light greens, but the ink really made the flower pop. The colours kind of shimmer on the petals. I used a scraper to scratch out some lines in the heart of the flower.

Alcohol ink flower

Give it a try: it’s great fun! I used Adirondack alcohol inks, which I had ordered from Joggles.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “MHP and alcohol inks”

  1. Norma Says:

    athe use of the ink sure gives lovely result. oh how i WISH

  2. encausticcanada Says:

    Thanks, Norma! It really is not difficult…

Leave a Reply

