36″ A Day: Day 29

A sunny/rainy Saturday here in the Okanagan today! One moment it’s fine, and then the wet stuff comes down again. At least it’s not white stuff, like they had in Alberta…;-)

I pottered about in the studio, getting all my supplies ready for the workshops I’m taking after the Encaustic Conference in Montserrat. But I did switch on the iron as well and made a fun little image which would be a good project for a birthday or thank you card:

It’s on 6×6″ white painting card, which I coated with some clear wax. Then I embedded the sunflower (torn from a paper napkin) with more wax and floated some golden yellow wax over it.
With a petal-shaped cauteria on the stylus I created a border with dark green.
In the middle of the flower I added specks of colour, which I enhanced with the gold powder, but you can hardly see it:

May 29, 1

Yesterday I had started a bigger panel, embedded another of my bamboo sumi-e drawings.
I added a bit of texture and colour, but am not quite sure if I should scrape most off again…
Your feedback will be appreciated…;-))

May 29, 2

Two more days….

Talk to you tomorrow,

Thea

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “36″ A Day: Day 29”

  1. Chris Says:

    I like your bamboo art the way it looks now Thea. 🙂 Great sunflower card! Chris

  2. encausticcanada Says:

    Thanks, Chris!
    Time to go to bed…?!

  3. sandy Says:

    Love the sunflower! Cardmaking is the reason I started playing with encaustic in the first place. I wanted to add some backgrounds to my cards. Somehow you make it look a lot easier than it really is:)

  4. encausticcanada Says:

    Thanks, Sandy! It’s with all things you have lots of practice in: it looks much easier that it is.
    So: practice, practice, practice…;-))

Leave a Reply

