36″ A Day: Day 26

Well, today was not a good day for painting! I don’t mean the weather was not agreeable; it was more that my muse had taken a day off after working overtime for 25 days…;-)

So I messed around, wasting wax and getting frustrated. As a last resort I started painting the edges black of other paintings that were waiting for a final treatment. That did not involve a lot of creativity!

But I did owe you (and myself!) a painting, so in desperation I painted the view from my studio window. I’m looking out onto Skaha Lake, lots of trees and shrubs, some mist on the mountains.
I painted on a 6×6″ piece of mat board with brushes, iron + stylus.
It’s not a masterpiece, but it did give me an idea for a bigger painting, so not all is lost!

May 26, 1
This morning I helped Angie McIntosh to hang a show in Leir House of the group of seniors she paints with regularly.
These so-called Sandbridge painters have been meeting to paint for almost 15 years, usually from October until May.  Most of the group had never painted before they began to work in watercolours in their senior years.  They have flourished and have learned many techniques.   Angie has been working with the group since 2006 and has found them to be a source of motivation, inspiration, and friendship.
These busy artists produce lovely works that range from florals to landscapes, and animals to cottages.  This spring show will highlight some of their favourite works.

Here is Angie, with a painting which depicts the Leir House and on the mantle you can see a little sculpture  of the same building!

Angie at Leir

The opening is tomorrow evening, 7 PM at Leir and the show is up until mid June.
If you’re in the area, please come in for a chat during opening night!

Talk to you tomorrow,
Thea

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

