36″ A Day: Day 19

Today was split in two very different sections: first 3 hours of bookkeeping in the morning with my gem of a bookkeeper, Gloria, and then I rushed over to my good friend Carol Munro’s studio to play on her new heated palette.
Carol’s husband Don constructed a special contraption for her to put over a common pancake griddle. It has a huge flat metal surface (I think it’s at least 20×30″) and she got very good at regulating the heat. Now the wax stays perfectly workable and all lines stay crisp, but the wax layer does not “dry out”.
We hope to offer this heated palette in the online store later this year…

So, I played! And played some more…;-)
I used the iron, heat-resistant sponges and a metal palette knife.

This is a big one: 16×24″ and at Carol’s suggestion the title is Hold my Hand (perhaps while it looks quite scary…?)

Hold my Hand

It’s 7:15 PM here, and I might still go down into my studio, but at least I thought I’d share this one with you for now.

Talk to you tomorrow,

Thea

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “36″ A Day: Day 19”

  1. sandy Says:

    Thea,
    I am so enjoying your 36 Day posts! Your experimentation and creativity is fabulous. I can’t wait to try some of the techniques once I have finished with my stained glass stepping stones.
    Thanks for sharing!
    Sandy

  2. encausticcanada Says:

    Thanks, Sandy! I’m so glad you are inspired; would love to see some of your stained glass stepping stones…

Leave a Reply

