36″ A Day: Day 8

Today I was treated to my Mother’s Day present a day early: my hubby and I went on a tour of our local wineries on the Naramata Bench to watch a bunch of en plein air painters. The paintings were meant for our yearly art auction fundraiser for our Penticton Art Gallery.
I was really surprised to realize that I knew so many of them and some even knew me!
A few pictures Peter took:

Kindrie Grove

Kindrie Grove

RodCharlesworth

Rod Charlesworth

Bill Hibbert

Bill Hibbert

You can imagine I was inspired when I got back home to paint some scenery. Not en plein air, alas, but in the studio. At least I had a photo to work from, taken by my son somewhere in Vancouver.
I painted on yellow painting card, starting with some smoothing with the iron for the sky and foreground, then use the stylus with the drawing tip. The tree branches were feathered out with the wire brush. I took some artistic liberty with the figures and added the dog and the bicycle. Can you find them??

May 8-1

Evening Walk

That was my only one for today.

Talk to you tomorrow,

Thea

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “36″ A Day: Day 8”

  1. Chris Says:

    Fabulous Thea! Yes, I saw the dog and bike! Clever! Haven’t waxed on yellow c/s before, best try it, you made yours look super!

  2. Linda Swales Says:

    Thea,
    It is lovely. What a unique background the coloured paper gives.

Leave a Reply

