36″ A Day: Day 7

I must admit that I still have not developed a routine, like starting every day on the same time…

Today just flew by with all kinds of “stuff” and it was 2 PM before I knew it! But I did go down to the studio and started on a couple of small projects, refreshing some old favourites like the pansies. I also attempted a skyline, which I had not done in a long time.
Even teachers get rusty!

Here are the pansies, painted with indigo blue on a red painting card:

The long, narrow skyline is on silver coloured card. I used the iron in the same position as with painting the candles/vase, with the tip facing me, and only loaded the side of the iron.
This looks like a very crowded space….I’m glad I don’t have to live there!

I find I use these simple images as a springboard to larger paintings; working on small sizes is not intimidating. It does not matter if things don’t turn out the first time – I just start a new piece!
Then, me and the hotplate all warmed up, I embark on bigger stuff.

These tulips (12×12 on wooden panel) started as a sumi-e drawing, embedded in wax. I added wax on top and achieved a totally different feel. There is a little left from the original composition though.
At the top and at the bottom in the middle (hardly visible) I pressed some textured wallpaper into the soft wax. The imprint was enhanced by rubbing with a dark pigment stick. I like the contrast of the delicate shapes with the crude tulips.

Bevrijdingsdag (Liberation Day)

Yesterday I watched CBC News, broadcasting from my homeland the Netherlands about the celebrations around the 65th. anniversary of the liberation of Holland by the Canadians. That’s why this painting is titled: Bevrijdingsdag (Liberation Day).
Thanks Canada! We will never forget!

Talk to you tomorrow,

Thea

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “36″ A Day: Day 7”

  1. Linda Swales Says:

    Love the pansies on red paper, they just jump.
    Great shapes in the skyline painting.
    What a great title for the tulips. I have a question, I should
    have asked before. What is sumi-e? I assumed it was paper laid
    down first.
    I do love the background.

  2. encausticcanada Says:

    Thanks, Linda!
    Sorry, I should have explained about sumi-e: it is Japanese brush painting. I took lessons when I was in Japan and recently found a whole bag of my practice pieces.
    I cut some out and embedded them in the wax. Sometimes just leaving like that, as in a bamboo one in an earlier post, sometimes I started painting on top.

Leave a Reply

