36″ A Day: Day 3

We’re at day 3. So far so good…;-)

Monday mornings are always hard to get through, so I thought I would start with a couple of real simple landscapes to warm up.
At the same time I switched on my crock pot with beeswax and my hot palette with a bunch of colours.

For the first landscape I chose a long, narrow size (4×9) and a complimentary palette: orange + purple. Of course I did get a little bit of grey, but it was not too bad.

The second one was done on black card, same size, with white pearlescent wax and a hint of vanilla yellow. The moon was done with the small heat-resistant “donut”.

Then I took a real narrow strip of 3×18 black card and played with some flower shapes. The strokes are similar to the Magnolia Tutorial.
The colours I used are pastel orange, pastel lilac and white.

This did not take me very long (around 30 min), but my palette was hot by the time I was finished, so I decided to play with some other projects that were lying around in the studio.

Yesterday I saturated a stack of sumi-e drawings with wax and collaged one to a wooden panel (12×12, I think). I rubbed some PanPastels over the surface, but that did not turn out very well, so I decided to just go for it and paint over the whole drawing with wax.

Now I like the result; what do you think??

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “36″ A Day: Day 3”

  1. Linda Swales Says:

    Thea, I really like the effect on the wooden panel. The back ground is
    a very nice colour.
    I do like the landscapes as well.
    The flower shapes on the third paper are very delicate looking.
    I look forward to more.

  2. Chris Says:

    Wow Thea, I love your landscape in the purple and orange. The 2 scenes on black are awesome! My favourites so far!!!!! I hope that you are having fun!!!!! Keep ’em coming! Chris

Leave a Reply

