Featured artist on Ning this week: Bethany!

Hello and welcome to another Wednesday:  “featured artist day” on the Encaustic Ning network!

This week’s featured member is Bethany Sutton. If you have been on the network for quite some time you might remember I featured her in January 2009. Her work has vastly changed and improved since then, so I thought it would be a good idea to set her in the spotlight again!
Here you will find Bethany’s artwork on our network, but she also has a cool new website. (Click on the image to enter the site).

Bethany started workshops with me several years ago and we became good friends. She is a joy to be around with and everyone instantly loves her! She is usually two steps ahead of me in trying out new techniques and really keeps me on my toes…;-)

One of the things I’ve been working on is Encaustic on photographs. I’ve one in the Gallery and below is its “sister image”.
As I wrote in the comment, “less is more” in this technique and it is really hard for me, for I usually will “fiddle” with stuff way too long,
not taking my own advice of “stopping one step ahead before it is
perfect…;-)):


There is a good chance that Linda Womack will incorporate working on photographs in her 2 courses, which she will give here in the Okanagan in September.
A few spots have freed up, because people had other commitments. Check out the details here.

Tomorrow is the opening of “Spring Renewal”: a juried FCA show at the Summerland Art Gallery. I have two Encaustic paintings in, and my good friend Carol Munro is represented with one painting.
Come and join us from 7 – 9 PM!

I have posted several free tutorials on my Ning social network, but I now have posted all of them right here on the blog. They are easy to find, scroll down a bit and look in the right hand column under my picture.

From the shop: the Encaustic painting irons are back in stock and so are the GetStarted! Kits Encaustic! And all stamps are 25% off this month.

That’s it for today!

Happy Painting,
Thea

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

