The Fruit of Procrastination

Do you know that feeling? You have a great idea for a project, but you’re afraid to go start on it because you don’t know if it will work out the way you envision?

That was my state of mind yesterday and I had been postponing going down to the studio until late afternoon. As I finally decided to start up my crockpot it was way too late for the wax to melt in time before dinner, so I played around with some small “misery pieces”…the ones that you think are going nowhere and you’re just wasting wax & time. I’m sure nobody else has those, but I can tell you I have a stack of them!!

All of a sudden two came together (I think…)
I’m not 100% convinced of “Under Construction”, but I’m  definitely liking “Field of Dreams”.
Unfortunately I did not take any “before” pictures to show you the desolate state they were in. Feedback would be greatly appreciated!

Field of Dreams (8 x 7.5")

Under Construction (8 x 12")

Tags: , ,

6 Responses to “The Fruit of Procrastination”

  1. Chris Notley Says:

    I love Field Of Dreams, it makes me think I’m walking in a beautiful flower meadow, great colours! Under Construction reminds me of floating leaves in a puddle, or fallen leaves layering the ground at the end of Autumn. Would loved to have seen the before pics! Chris

  2. Diane Pleasance Says:

    I love them both….the outcome is what counts

  3. Deb Townsend Says:

    Fantastic fruit! I really love them both. Wonderful textures and life!

  4. Frances Morrison Says:

    Oh yes I sure do know the feeling! I have been going through that for 2 months now, feeling like I have an encaustic “block”- no pun intended. Your field of Dreams is fantastic! The colors inspire me, make me feel good. Great textures on the 2nd one. Perhaps some object as a focal point is needed in this one to finish it off?

  5. encausticcanada Says:

    Great to get all your feedback!
    Frances, I’m going to take a good hard look and will try to find a suitable focal point. You are right: it is a bit “all over the place”…

  6. “Under Construction” revisited… « Encaustic Canada's Blog Says:

    […] “Under Construction” revisited… By encausticcanada Remember the piece “Under Construction”, shown in Fruit of Procrastination? […]

Leave a Reply

