December Newsletter

How do you like my new logo?? And I subtly changed the company name from TwinLakes EncausticArt  in TwinLakes Encaustic Art Ltd.

Yes, we’re all grown-up now.  Hopefully the name and logo will become a household brand within the Encaustic community for great products, fast & friendly service and knowledgeable advice.  It feels like an early Christmas present for myself and I do have a few for you too!

At the last Circle Monday, December 7, several people made some more Christmas cards like the one here:

The “Dasher” image was stamped with permanent ink on painting card, then the scene was painted around and over it. Keep it simple!

The Circle Meetings are a means to meet with other Encausticer, try out new techniques, learn from each other, chat, exchange ideas etc. Everybody brings their own equipment and waxes.
Workshop info: More about Linda Womack coming to B.C.
As soon as last month’s Newsletter was send out people rushed to sign up to be part of this unique event and the workshop filled up within a week…. To try and avoid too much disappointment I asked Linda to consider teaching two 2-day classes and she agreed!
So now I still have a few spots open…Tentative dates are Sept. 9/10 and 11/12, 2010.To get into the mood I suggest you put  Linda’s book“Embracing Encaustic” on your Christmas wish list!

Featured Guest Artist: Maura Joy Lustig
For this section I’d like to highlight one of you each month. Please email me your favourite Encaustic painting. If possible with a short story.
giselechase
This month’s painting, Serenity Pond, is by Maura Joy Lustig, a huge 32×64″ encaustic painting on a wooden panel. Maura told me it’s a commissioned piece and that she will deliver it to the happy owner this week.
Maura is a Success & Wellness Coach, fabulous Encaustic artist, one of IEA’s  presidents and general a force of nature! I’m proud to call her my friend and mentor. She lives in Ontario.

On the left is my latest painting, inspired by a local pub “The Barking Parrot”. It’s 18×24″ on a wooden panel and sports some real feathers and pieces of Japanese chiyogami paper.

Happy Painting, and I’m sure I will be talking to you before the Holidays!

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

