October 2009

On this Thanksgiving Weekend I realize that I have a lot to be thankful for myself.

I thank all those who came and joined me in celebrating 5 years of Encaustic in Canada with me; there must have been at least 50 of you at beautiful Linden Gardens.

And I thank also everybody who could not attend, but sent me their best wishes: those turned into a fat binder on the display table!

Here I am, on the right, dancing with one of my guests to the music of Fiddle Frazzle.

More photos of the event are in an online album.

I was “on the road” again, this time to attend the 4th. Retreat & Conference from IEA (International Encaustic Artists) in the Carmel Valley near Santa Cruz/San Jose. It was 3 days of intense camaraderie, laughter and learning. 
Keynote speaker was the Canadian Encaustic artist Tony Scherman, who made an incredible impact on everybody with his speech. He spoke about how he solved the problem of “separating the figure from the ground” by painting only the faces of his subjects. I would advise everybody with an interest in Encaustic to become a member of IEA, which is a professional artists’ organization that seeks to raise the level of excellence in fine art encaustic work by providing global information exchange and raising interest about encaustics in the art world and with the general public.  

For this section I’d like to highlight one of you each month. Please email me your favourite Encaustic painting. If possible with a short story.

This month it’s a double artwork by Marylee Munro: a gorgeous fabric, quilted wall hanger, inspired by a small Encaustic work.

With all this partying and traveling I’ve not had much time to paint, but I want to share with you this painting of blown flowers on canvas (11×14″), which won second prize in the “new media” section of our local Fall Art show.Of course we all know that “new media” does not adequately describe Encaustic, so I will have to do some more education on that subject…;-)    

Tags:

Leave a Reply

