November 2009

my birthday was mid October and my sweet hubby surprised me by finally giving up control of our rec room!
He moved the TV upstairs (and had to drill a hole in the side of the house for the antenna!) and there I am: with a beautiful BIG new studio!

My old space did not even have a window and look at the view now…It even has a bar and a fireplace!

The space has a great “feel” to it, so hopefully it will inspire some nice paintings and I will also be able to offer studio classes now.
Be sure to drop by when you’re in the area!

All art work from the third Rip-Off challenge is on display atHandworks Gallery in Oliver until November 26. 9 local artists created their own version of Georgia O’Keeffe’s famous Pink Tulip. My personal favourite is a gorgeous hand-knitted purse by Terry Irvine.

Former projects used paintings of Vincent van Gogh and Gustav Klimt. We will soon be deciding on next year’s “victim”…;-)

The painting at the left is providing a good clue…many of you will recognize Linda Womack’s unique painting style and yes, she just might come to the Okanagan to teach a workshop next year!
Linda is also the author of the wildly popular book“Embracing Encaustic”.
Featured Artist
For this section I’d like to highlight one of you each month. Please email me your favourite Encaustic painting. If possible with a short story.
This month it’s Chris Notley, who sent me this greeting card in the good old snail mail. It’s a stamped scene, enhanced with Encaustic. She is very good at it and has several other examples on my Ning site.
Chris is a wonderful advocate for Encaustic and proudly shows her work to her friends, who then become my customers!
Thanks, Chris!!

Last month’s Good Deal, with a free sticker sheet with every $25.00 purchase, was a big success.

I still have a good supply left though; they are great for making stunning Christmas cards.The stickers are CAD2.25 per sheet, or CAD19.95 for 10 and there are many other themes besides Christmas.  Here’s a link to a Picasa Webalbum with more examples.
My Encaustic calendar is a fundraiser here in the Okanagan. Every year I choose a different art project to benefit, either a local arts council or our regional gallery.I still have a few of 2009’s left. Perhaps someone would like to have one just for the pictures? They are all paintings of local Encaustic artists, which were on display in “Brilliant Moments II” in Penticton.

The calendar is free, but I’d need you to send me a self-addressed, stamped 9×12″ envelope.
Drop me a line and I will reserve one for you.


Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

