August 2009 – News

can you believe we’re already 5 years in Canada!

And I started teaching Encaustic in Penticton almost as soon as I arrived; hitting the ground melting, so to speak…;-)

Here is a picture of an elderly lady (she was at least 80), painting away during my very first public appearance at the Penticton Wellness Centre on October 10, 2004. I remember she wanted me to paint her a pumpkin…In the end I had to unplug her, for she did not want to stop!

Two weeks later I taught my first full-blown workshop at Leir House, to 7 brave souls who had never heard of Encaustic before.
And the rest is history…

In recognition of the 5th anniversary of teaching my first Encaustic workshop in Canada I am planning an Encaustic party, in conjunction with a painting day.

Wouldn’t it be wonderful if everyone who ever took one of the workshops could come?

I’m sending this invitation to everybody on my email list, realizing quite well that many of you live too far away from the Okanagan to attend, but I hope you will still be with me in spirit. It would be great to receive an inspiring response from you, which I then can read or display at the party. That way it’s like you’re there!

The festivities will take place at Linden Gardens in Kaleden,where we will gather, visit, paint (of course!) and enjoy some festive treats. I’ll have some Encaustic related door prizes to give away and you could even win a free entry to one of next year’s workshops!

Date: Saturday, September 26, 2009

Place: Linden Gardens, Kaleden, BC, Canada

Time: 9:30 AM – 2:30 PM

Details: If you like, bring your painting materials. We hope to have lots of ‘birthday paintings’ come out of this happy session!

Coffee, tea, juices and sweets will be provided.

The kitchen at Linden Gardens will prepare lunches as usual for those who prefer to buy theirs.
Stay for the whole time or drop in to share the happy occasion with other Encaustic painters.

The party is free to attend by anyone who has an interest in Encaustic,
but please R.S.V.P. to Thea by September 20.
info@encaustic.ca / 250-497-5163

It is time for me to start planning the next workshop year and I hope to bring back old favourites, some exciting new courses and perhaps an outside teacher again.

I already got several requests  to teach outside the Okanagan. Contact me if you would like me to teach a workshop in  your area as well.

For those of you who take my regular classes in the Okanagan: Please email me your thoughts on which topics you would like me to cover in the next year.
Tags:

Leave a Reply

